Of Michael Bublè, Fireworks and Mirages..

I’m on my bed, Michael Bublè playing on my laptop, the sound of Call Me Irresponsible matching my thoughts, and my thoughts are somewhere amidst fireworks in the sky. I saw the most amazing display of fireworks on the weekend after 4th of July, at Long Beach, NY, as mentioned in my earlier post, I’m in New York these days, physically present here but my mind is scattered in a million places..one of them being Pakistan (more on that later). So..coming back to the point (note to self: must focus on not getting distracted!! Damn it!) Those fireworks were absolutely mesmerizing, they were the sort that made you get lost in their beauty, and I’ve seen plenty of firework displays in my years of 4th of July celebrations in America or on wedding ceremonies and the like.

Fireworks are the perfect example of living in the moment. They shoot up, light up the sky and then burn up in the atmosphere. They literally burn up just to bring about a few smiles. It’s like they’re mouthing the lyrics to John Mayer’s – In Your Atmosphere…”I’d burn up in your atmosphere”.  Have you ever wanted to be a part of a shooting star? A firecracker? Has the thought ever occurred to you? What if we could be like those fireworks? What if I could be like those fireworks, buzzing neon lighting up the whole sky? What if I could be one of those billions of light particles?. As I sat down on one of the benches at Long Beach, I put my earplugs in, played my favorite playlist and got lost in my little reveries, while staring at the deep, raven sea that stretched ahead of me.

Sometimes, the best thing that you can do for yourself is to shut your mind and unwind. You need some time off even from yourself. Just switch off your day-to-day thoughts, and give yourself a brief mental break. Don’t think of anything. Let it go, be free. I personally feel that this is one of the most precious gifts anyone could give to them self. I tend to do that and it tends to give me a lot of peace.  My mind is a complex place (no it doesn’t have a hamster running on a wheel) that likes to wander off in its own depths, it likes to explore the numerous chimeras it has created within. The little things in life that give me big happiness, it’s the raw intensity of moments that take my breath away and leave me enchanted. I look at neon signs and fireworks and wish to get lost in a surreal world of my own, I wish to buzz like neon one moment, and the next..disappear.  I get captivated by little things and make a big picture out of them. I wish to turn a mirage into reality…

Leave a Reply

