The Die Hard Romantic’s Diary

150206163905-romantic-south-pacific-moorea-sunset-super-169

There’s something about being a die hard romantic and perhaps reading too many books glorifying rose tinted love. I’ve never truly considered myself a romantic (I refrain from labelling) but some part of me believes in the idea of love. Love is the most subjective thing in the world. I say this because it’s a four letter word that is extremely versatile in context.

I love animals, I love reading paperbacks and I would rather prefer them over their technological counterparts, I love adventure, I love a good surprise, I love it when my best friend calls me instead of texting me, it makes me feel as if she made the extra effort to hear my voice. Texts seem devoid of emotion – too disconnected for my taste. I prefer my close ones to be in close proximity; the sort that allows me to truly feel their presence or come as close to it as possible.

Love and hate both go hand in hand. Where there is one, the other is bound to follow suit. You can’t expect someone to not feel resentment towards you if you’re the one who triggered them. My friends and family tend to believe that I have a bright future in storytelling, that perhaps I could write a life altering (read: earth shattering) book some day. How could they presume that I could accomplish such a feat?. I’ll tell you why – they think I have the knack for it as I believe in fairytales and happily ever afters. *facepalm*

No. I don’t. I’m just a hopeful heart in a world full of hopelessness. My feet are on the ground but that doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to dream of floating in the clouds from time to time. I can spread all the love and happiness I want, it doesn’t cost a dime and only brings smiles on people’s faces or reminds them of their own fond memories. If my words resonate with you, I’m doing something right. My work is done.

Another thing I’ve recently noticed is how quick people are to judge the subject you choose to write on. They think you’re some heartbroken, wretched train wreck waiting to be fixed, so in the meanwhile you choose to write about love, loss and betrayal. ¬†When will people learn not to jump to conclusions? It’s not always like that. Writing is a way of connecting, it’s meditation and art combined.

It’s pure, it’s raw and it’s passionate and wild. It has to run it’s course, so let it. You have to let your heart do the writing, you have to project your observations and experiences in your expression. If my words strike a chord with you, it means that you too are human, you’re not alone and you too can relate to it on some deeper level. You don’t have to be lovelorn to write about life and love, it stems from compassion and empathy.

Leave a Reply

